Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dublin29_gw

Relationship between Teas & Chinas.

Dublin29
9 years ago

I'm a beginner at the rose game. I get confused between Teas & Chinas. They are related aren't they ? Or have I got this entirely wrong ? If they are, could someone explain how they are similar & where they differ. Thanks

Signed
Confused.

Comments (15)

• michaelg
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Teas are thought to have originated in a hybrid of China and a climbing species native to the highlands of South Asia. They are similar in the twiggy shrub habit, disease resistance, strong repeat bloom, and preference for hot weather. Teas usually have larger, better-formed, and more fragrant flowers. Chinas may be a little tougher on average. I don't have a lot of experience growing these, so others may have better information.

• jerijen
    9 years ago

You covered that pretty well, Michael. :-)

Jeri

• ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
    9 years ago

There seems to be some overlap or confusion about which is which, since Le Vesuve among others has been put in either camp. Cels Multiflora has been classed as a tea but looks exactly like a China in growth habit and leaves, but the flowers look more like teas. Jean Bach Sisley is another example. As usual it's not all black and white, with some blurring of the lines as far as I can see.

Ingrid

• michaelg
    9 years ago

Thanks, Jeri, you are the real expert here..

• malcolm_manners
    9 years ago

In addition to what has been said, Teas are often bigger, heftier plants, often originating from just one basal stem, whereas Chinas tend to be twiggier, often with many stems emerging from the soil line. Teas often resent pruning in hot weather, sometimes just dying outright. Chinas couldn't care less -- hack them with a hedge trimmer or a chain saw any time. They really don't care.

• ArbutusOmnedo 10/24
    9 years ago