Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kater17

New to forum and need help selecting suitable antique roses

kater17
9 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum, although I have been gardening in Central Florida for several years....mainly perennials and very much in the English style (that's where I'm from). I really want to add in some antique roses, maybe 5 or 6 different shrub types, to my borders but I would love advice on ones that you all find truly fabulous! (And can't live without). I have a Crepescule which I will post a pic of which I love and some Julia Child's which are doing wonderfully. The David Austin's I chose a few years ago just hated life (or me) and faded away! Any advice on what would be great to try next would be really welcome ...(I am a lazy sprayer so disease resistance is important!). Thank you

Comments (19)

• Vicissitudezz
    9 years ago

If you're in Central Florida, you should probably get in touch with Rose Petals Nursery and/or Angel Gardens. These are two well-stocked rose nurseries in Florida with owners who are quite knowledgeable about their roses. You should be able to get some good advice from them:
    http://rosepetalsnursery.com
    http://www.angelgardens.com

Generally speaking, you'll probably find that Teas, Chinas, and Noisettes are your best bets for a no-spray garden in the hot'n'humid Southeast states. You might like some of the Bermuda Mystery Roses also...

Hybrid Teas are a mixed bag in terms of disease resistance- some have old-fashioned blooms like the Austin roses and are disease-resistant, and then there are some beautiful older HT's such as 'Madame Caroline Testout' and 'Madame Abel Chatenay' that have enough Tea ancestry to like those same conditions.

Some of the Hybrid Musks might be good options also.

Your Crepuscule is beautiful!

Good luck,
    Virginia

• organic_tosca
    9 years ago

I remember a poster on this forum who raved about the performance of 'Le Vesuve' in her Florida garden.