Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arbutusomnedo

Tea, China, Noisette, et al. Experiences and Recommendations

Hello Everyone,

I'm a novice OGR grower, but I'm preparing a new rose bed (about 25'x5') that I am hoping to fill exclusively with lovely antiques. I'm in coastal, sunny, and mildly, but never oppressively humid Santa Monica, CA. Everyone I have had the pleasure to speak with about my climate -particularly Jeri- has led me towards Teas, Chinas, and Noisettes as the premier OGRs for this climate. My research has mostly stayed within the confines of these classes, but I have a few questions about Hybrid Musks, an HP, and a Portland rose as well.

I'd love to hear what folks in similar climates have to say about the following roses they have experience with. I'm worried the mature sizes listed in compendiums for most of these roses are not quite true to this climate. In particular I am considering:

2 Compact Reds amongst Francis Dubreil, Agrippina, Cramoisi Superior, Fabvier, Eugene de Beauharnais, and Slater's Red. I've read that Agrippina is the "dwarf" Cramoisi, so that seems ideal. I really love Francis Dubreil, so I would be thankful for anyone who can let me know a realistic mature size to expect.

2 Compact White/Creams amongst Devoniensis (shrub), Ducher (I've read it can get to 6x6, but mostly see smaller dimensions mentioned), Niphetos (same story as Ducher), and any recommendations you have. I already have Souvenir d'Elise Vardon planned elsewhere if anyone thinks that would work here.

2 Small to Medium (Upright is fine, spread should be no more than 4.5' ideally) Reds amongst White Pearl in Dragon's Mouth, Louis Phillipe, Arthur de Sansal (anyone try this in a coastal climate?), and Baron Girod de l'Ain (anyone think this has a chance/tried it in a costal climate?). Can you think of any other moderate sized Red Chinas or HPs that could make it here?