Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lynn2112

How do you Overwinter Bands or 1 Gallons in Pots?

Hi,

This is my first year growing bands. Some of them will come out of their containers and go into the ground during October, the rest will not be planted until March.

How do you overwinter bands in pots?

I am in a warm climate but wrote this question generically just in case there are people in cold climates with the same question.

Any advice you all can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Lynn

Comments (30)

• AquaEyes 7a NJ
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Lyn, where you are, I think you can just leave them out and they'll be fine.

I left six 2-gal pots on my front porch unprotected over the winter here in NJ. "Darlow's Enigma", 'Souv de Victor Landeau', 'Cardinal de Richelieu' and 'Charles de Mills' simply went to sleep. 'Mme Isaac Pereire' and 'Belle Story' kept waking up during warm spells, trying to grow, and to their undoing. When Spring finally came, their freeze-damage became too much for them, and they slowly died back to death. I noticed that the pots did freeze a few times when the weather hit the teens at night (the lowest this Winter), but as long as the daytime temps were above freezing, the soil didn't freeze solid.

This year, any that don't get planted will be kept in their pots and partially buried in the main flower bed. I'm ordering a big mulch delivery in the next couple weeks, and that plus the chopped tree debris underneath should come about halfway up pots placed at soil-surface level. I'm planning to just dig a few more inches into the soil, and then bunch up Autumn leaves around the pots. We get a Winter here, but it's really only about a month when daytime temperatures remain below freezing.

:-)

~Christopher

• Poorbutroserich Susan Nashville
    10 years ago