Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sow_what

So Happy to Finally Be Getting Annie Laurie McDowell

I've been on the waiting list with Burlington, and was so happy to get the email that Annie Laurie McDowell is ready! I'll be purchasing several, and will grow them for Humpty Dumpty House and Totally Kids Rehabilitation Hospital. I'm very new at taking roses seriously, and will appreciate any advice (eg: keep potted or plant in ground, best protocols for growing them out, etc).

I've never purchased from Burling before, so if anyone knows of other "must-try" roses she carries that are good in a hot, dry climate, please let me know.

Thanks!
jannike

Comments (15)

• ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
    9 years ago

Mine was very small when I received it from Burling and I kept it in a 1-gallon pot for quite some time. I didn't have a 2-gallon pot when it seemed too large for the 1-gallon one, and so cut down a 5-gallon one so that it would contain much less soil. It stayed in that pot until it got very hot this summer, and then I judged it safer to plant it in its final position, where it receives morning sun only. It began to put out new growth in a very short time so that must have been the right decision. I almost always plant bands straight into the ground, but this plant was so precious to me, and is so difficult to get, that I didn't want to take the chance of anything going wrong.

Ingrid

• ms. violet grey
    9 years ago

I recently received a band from Burling.
    I planted directly into the ground---- only
    only a few feet away from my beautiful Crape Myrtle
    'Pink Velour'. She will climb along the covered patio column which is directly behind.

I don't babysit roses. I observe. Thus, all bands are immediately planted.

She is so happy. First bloom ever this morning!!!
    It's only been maybe 2 months since "the acquisition".

This post was edited by mauvegirl8 on Mon, Aug 4, 14 at 18:20

9 years ago