Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
needsweeding

Help with climbing rose rigging

needsweeding
9 years ago

Could anyone please help with what sort of hardware or rigging to install to grow Mme Alfred Carriere across the front of my house? If the picture upload worked ... this is my house. I want Mme to grow up one of the outside posts and across the top - the total distance is about 9m (or maybe 11m if you count the distance up before going across)

I'm thinking maybe eyebolts with wire strung across, one set on top of the other about 40cm apart, sort of almost clothes line effect.

I've never done this before and I really feel like I'm making this up as I go along - could anyone advise?

Thanks!
needsweeding

Comments (23)

• boncrow66
    9 years ago

That's what I did to pillar my climbing pinkies and it seems to be working. I just went straight up a pole but not across my house. I used a coated wire too. Good luck!

• thonotorose
    9 years ago

Lovely home! I think you will need a freestanding structure. The Madame may pull your porch off. She is a very shrubby rose and acts like a sail here sometimes.

• boncrow66
    9 years ago

Ya I think it sounds like eye hooks and wire might work for climbing pinkie but sounds like MAC might need something sturdier.

• needsweeding
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks so much for the feedback. I'll have a look for the plate-and-ring hardware, we have plenty of rural stores in the area.

I looked up Reve D'Or, and that's a bit too yellow for what I'm wanting, which is cream/pink ... or at least leaning toward a pink.

I can let Mme eat the water tank, like she did at my last house, but that's why I thought she'd do ok on the front - I knew she could go the whole distance. I would, however, be a bit distressed if she pulled the verandah down. That aside, I can plant two roses, one on either end post and let them meet in the middle.