Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
azjenny

which would you pick?!

azjenny
9 years ago

Newbie here, in Phoenix, with a love for the antique roses.

I am looking for some good options for me to order this year and would love to hear some recommendations!

All my roses need to be at least somewhat fragrant, heat tolerant, and I would prefer not crazily thorny as I have children who will be around them, but know not to grab them.
I don't love bright red or bright yellow roses, but would consider any pinks, wines or lighter yellow/apricots, oranges or whites.

- a climber or two
- something shade tolerant (but in phoenix does this matter as much?)
- some smaller shrubs for both planting in the ground and a couple for pots, are there any cute minis that anyone would suggest for pots? Or just smaller bushes?

Any help would be appreciated!

Comments (16)

• ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
    9 years ago

Welcome to the forum, Jenny. I live in a hot, dry climate and these are some roses that have done well for me:

Tea roses are wonderful, although not terribly fragrant. One that is fragrant is pink Duchesse de Brabant, which would appreciate afternoon shade.

Mlle. de Sombreuil grew and bloomed very quickly for me, still blooming now in the heat. White in color. Will make a lovely statement when full-grown.

Carding Mill, an Austin rose, is apricot, disease free, blooms a lot, great in the heat, not much fragrance. Still very valuable.

Reve d'Or is a wonderful climber but don't put it on a hot house wall. Pinkish-apricot, very lovely and floriferous. Grew quickly for me.

Le Vesuve is a large pink tea rose, grows very wide, it is thorny but well worth having; in fact, I have two.

Young Lycidas, an Austin rose, purplish, very fragrant and beautiful, no disease, does well in the heat.

La France, the first hybrid tea but old, large pink and fragrant flowers, one of my favorites.