Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cincy_city_garden

Help Rose Friends! Is this herbicide damage? (multiple pictures)

cincy_city_garden
15 years ago

Okay, I just noticed this weird growth on my "Not Heritage, Possibly Ludlow Castle" rose. All of the growth is coming off of one major cane. The house two houses up the street from me is for sale, and the owner who flipped the house has stopped by a couple times and sprayed Weed B Gone, spot treating weeds in the lawn.

I'm hoping that it's herbicide damage and not the dreaded RRD. If it is RRD, then it would be my first case since living here for 4 years. The leaves are thicked and pebbly, and the stipules are noticeably deformed.

Help! :)

Eric

{{gwi:311727}}

{{gwi:311728}}

{{gwi:311729}}

{{gwi:311730}}

{{gwi:311731}}

{{gwi:311734}}

Comments (12)

• kandaceshirley
    15 years ago

Unfortunately it looks like RRD to me, but I'm not an expert. I'd probably cut that cane out and see if I could save the rest of the rose that way.

• cincy_city_garden
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I forgot to add that I cut the cane off at the base shortly after taking the pictures.

Eric

• anntn6b
    15 years ago

It's not herbicide. It looks like RRD with at least five different symptoms (and the stipules are really hideous. The stem's growth is favoring one side, growing in an exaggerated spiral. Compared to the other cane, every leaf axil has broken. The leaves on the breaks are too close, short internodal distance. You're getting a leaf mottle pattern as well.)
    And your instincts were good to remove that cane.
    Now I want you to watch the bush very closely: for bad growth where that cane might have touched the one close to it, and more likely, the very bottom of the bush. Often, if we don't get it cut off early enough, it gets into the roots and from there goes elsewhere.