Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aimeekitty

4year-ish check in and triage

aimeekitty
10 years ago

I don't really have much space left for more roses. I started in 2009 with a compacted dirt lot. SW 18, Z9-10
My soil is still largely clay alkaline though I've improved it a fair amount.

There were a few roses that I had been babying in pots for 2-3 years that I finally planted in the ground this past spring... like Maman Cochet. :( :(

and my new large/healthy Anna Jung tea I thought would be totally fine in the ground and I babied it... and it DIED a few months later. :( I'm still not sure what I did wrong there. I'm still pretty sad about it. My new Evelyn from DA never even sprouted.... My Grandmother's Hat died. :(

Still not super happy with my two Hybrid Perpetuals as I discussed with you guys previously. They're big healthy looking bushes that don't bloom that much. Tempted to dig one of them out and put one of the other roses that has performed better in my yard.

My yellow Lady Banks still hasn't grown in 4 years. I said I would give it another year based on what you guys said, but I've given it a long time. It was planted in 2009 and it hasn't grown at all!!! Seriously tempted to dig out that whole area and amend it. I think maybe when the landscapers put that particular plant in, that area was compacted and the poor thing just can't grow well at all.

I have a probably 2-year in the ground Mme Lombard which is healthy enough looking but hasn't grown at all. Is there anything I can do about that??? :(

These roses have been rock stars for me though:
James Galway DA
Carding Mill DA
Jude the Obscure DA
Archduke Charles China
Bermuda's Kathleen (?)
Valencia HT
Grace Darling HT
La France CL
The Faun FL
Lavender Lassie HM
Lyda Rose HM
Madam Alfred C TN
Sombreuil