Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gnabonnand

My Top 1/2 Dozen Thornless Roses

gnabonnand
17 years ago

Here's the thornless varieties that are currently performing the best for me in my garden. I've been growing thornless and nearly thornless roses for quite a few years now, and thought I'd share the info in case anyone else likes thornless.

Pink Gruss an Aachen (the one from Chamblees)

Valentine

The Jefferson Rose

Gilbert Nabonnand

Mrs. Dudley Cross

Reine des Violettes

Randy

Comments (55)

• alicia7b
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

ARE's swamp rose
    Renae

• georgia_rose
    17 years ago

Carolyn Dean is one I've fallen in love with this year, beautiful drooping foliage and simple pink/yellow blend flowers from pretty coral buds.

Lisa

• altorama Ray
    17 years ago

randy, i am sure i misspelled it-
    see below
    alida

Here is a link that might be useful: hmf

• gnabonnand
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Alida, that is a great looking rose. I had never heard of it before. Thanks for posting the link.

Lisa, I will check out Carolyn Dean. Another one I'm not familiar with.

Renae, I really like the swamp rose from ARE. I saw one in Bartonville, which is near here. Very unique rose.

Randy

• luanne
    17 years ago

I finally got one, r. palustris at Ashdowns, ferney foliage reminds me of a bamboo but with silky pink singles that looked like translucent disks on the one at San Jose Heritage rose garden. It was love, last year and I've snagged two for a little foliage variation, no scent. I think of Sutter's Gold, Lemon Spice, and Irene as thornless because the prickles are so far apart I never hurt myself but in reality they have some.I wouldn't give up my thornies though, so many of them smell so good whereas Reine des Violettes is the only major smelly (I have her) is that not so? Wonder if there is a connection.
    la

Here is a link that might be useful: R. palustris at Ashdown

• bluesibe
    17 years ago