Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spectrograph_nc_7b

RdV: Own root or grafted?

What do you folks think? Is Reines des Violettes good on its own root, or worth seeking out a grafted source? Thanks!

Comments (6)

• sara_ann-z6bok
    9 years ago

I don't know if one is better than the other, but I'll tell you my experience with my own-root RdV so far. I planted mine in April of 2013, one gallon own-root from Roses Unlimited. I am fairly new to old garden roses, so didn't know at all what to expect. I planted it, along with Mme Isaac Pereire, Zephirine Drouhin and two Rose de Rescht, all from Roses Unlimited. Rose de Rescht bloomed a lot in 2013, the other three just a little with Reine des Violettes blooming a little late in the season. This spring they all bloomed good, I think for just their second season. I've had just a few blooms from RdV since, so I'm not sure what to expect in the future. I think these roses mainly just take some patience. Is it even available grafted?

• malcolm_manners
    9 years ago

If other own-root roses do well for you, it should be fine. Because of our soils, we grow nearly all of our roses grafted, and it does very well that way as well.

• seil zone 6b MI
    9 years ago