Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maddyda

David Austins In A Container

MaddyDA
10 years ago

Hello, I've been bitten by the "rose bug", David Austins in particular and have been planting roses earlier this year.

I now have no more room to plant any more in the ground but i really want to get the following DAs:

- Abraham Derby
- Buff Beauty
- Crown Princess Margareta
- Evelyn
- Golden Celebration
- Princess Alexandra
- The Alnwick Rose
- William Shakespeare

Would these be suitable for large containers? Or do they need to be in the ground for them to really prosper.

Any help would be appreciated. i am a novice gardener..still learning and this forum has already helped me a lot.

Comments (14)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago

Buff Beauty (which is NOT a David Austin rose) is a rather big sprawling bush/climber with big tough long canes--and sharp prickles. Mine in the ground gets about 7-8 feet wide and 5 ft tall. That said, BB is a beauty and I wouldn't be without her--at the back of the lot next to the alley fence (although I mostly let her sprawl and take up a lot of space back there).

William Shakespeare 2000 (there was an earlier version of W.Shakespeare, so it's best to add the 2000 for the current one--it is an Austin) doesn't strike me as a good candidate for a pot. It is stiff and tends to extend a bit awkwardly to the sides--5-6 ft wide. Mine gets about 4 ft tall. If you like that shade of red-purple, maybe think of Munstead Wood--one of my very favorite roses. It stays more in the 3 ft range and, to me anyway, would work better in a pot. It is a wonderful rose.

The other roses you list I know only by reputation, so you'll have to wait for others to comment on them.

Good luck.

Kate

• racin_rose
    10 years ago

Lady Emma Hamilton does well in a pot and is gorgeous with my favorite fragrance. I would think the Alnwick would also do well, but it grows very upright. Pretty rose, it's on my short list.