Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
love2garden_nc

Shailers Province Rose

love2garden-nc
15 years ago

This is my first time on this forum. I'm just getting interested in antique roses. I was at a nursery today and saw a rose named 'Shailers Province Rose'. I've googled it and can't find anything about it. Does anyone know anything about this particular rose? Any info appreciated. Barbara

Comments (17)

• cincy_city_garden
    15 years ago

Was this it? See link below. Welcome to world of antique roses, it's addicting :) You should buy it!

Eric

Here is a link that might be useful: Shailer's Provence @ HMF

• carolfm
    15 years ago

Welcome, I don't grow this rose but have admired it for years. It's quite beautiful. It is a once bloomer, blooming in the spring. You are cooler than I am so it should do very well for you. Hopefully, some one who grows it will be along shortly to give you more information.

Carol

• melva
    15 years ago

I have that rose, it was a small plant when I got it..the blooms are lovely!
    {{gwi:317267}}

• anntn6b
    15 years ago

It's Friday afternoon, and for the first time, I find that this is a seedling of "the spineless Virgin".
    I've got to stop snickering about this.

• hartwood
    15 years ago

This is probably my very favorite antique rose. Yes, it's a once-bloomer -- but it blooms for weeks and weeks. Afterward, the foliage is really lovely. It smells wonderful, and it will grow just about anywhere.

{{gwi:317268}}

{{gwi:317269}}

{{gwi:317270}}

{{gwi:267910}}

{{gwi:267917}}

You bought it, didn't you?

Connie

• carolfm
    15 years ago

Connie, I'm sure that if she didn't buy it before, she'll rush out and buy it now. Gorgeous!
    Ann, I'm glad to see that I wasn't the only one who found that amusing...

Carol

• rjlinva
    15 years ago