Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
floweryearth

Reddish canes on a rose bush (bad)?

floweryearth
9 years ago

Hello,

I have two rose bushes I planted last fall that have been lovely all summer.

BUT... since the start of fall I have observed that many branches are turning an unusual shade of red.

This has me very concerned. This is my first time growing a gallica (Ypsilanti), so I don't know whether if it is a canker, a rose rosette symptom, or (hopefully) something trivial.

Please feel free to click on my photobucket links to see more pics.

Please give me any input you find necessary.

{{gwi:323179}}

{{gwi:323180}}

{{gwi:323181}}

{{gwi:323182}}

{{gwi:323183}}

Comments (13)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

entirely normal ... especially in fall ...

do roses go dormant down in your zone.. for winter????

red is often a precurser to green... in many many plants ... its not uncommon to see it in spring ...

i once asked a professional.. and he explained the red phase to me.. but i cant remember why ... maybe someone here can refresh my memory ...

e.g. hosta pips can be red in spring .... some tree leaves come out with a reddish tinge... but are not red trees.. etc ...

the affect is rather too consistent for me to jump to a disease ...

and its not really a time of year.. i would be fertilizing.. up here in MI anyway ...

which simply leads me... back to.. its late fall.. even down where you are ...

you should be CONCERNED.. about learning... but i wouldnt carry that as far as WORRY ... as i am reading some level of stress .. in your post .... and your plant simply looks too healthy ...

ken

• floweryearth
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Ken, thank you so much.

Yes, roses absolutely do go dormant here (usually beginning late November until somewhere in April).

I agree about not fertilizing anything at this point in the season.