Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jaspermplants

Most graceful rose; most awkward plant??

jaspermplants
10 years ago

I am a lover of tea roses and was noticing today what a graceful plant my tea rose, Souv. de Pierre Notting is. It is a lovely vase shape; just beautiful. Not at all as awkward plant as it's parent, Maman Cochet.

I was wondering what your most graceful rose was (the plant, not necessarily the bloom). Also, what is your most awkward looking plant but most beautiful bloom? I would say mine is Tipsy Imperial Concubine. Incredible blooms on an very awkward, crooked plant! Love it though!

Comments (18)

• ogrose_tx
    10 years ago

Abraham Darby is the most awkward ugly bush, but oh, the roses!

• bman1920
    10 years ago

Easy i have abraham darby. This is my first year with roses. I have abe next to my deck. Its the ugliest shrub i have so far. The flowers have great fragrance . I have seen nice pics on this site. So i will give it time to mature. I bought it before i learned about OGRS.

• bman1920
    10 years ago

Thats ironic.Ogrose said the same thing as i was writing. Thats it im moving that thing in the spring. Only OGRS from now on.

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago

I only grow a handful of older and related roses, so I'm not much of an authority on this topic, but wouldn't hybrid musks tend to have more graceful 'fountain' shapes? At least my two do--Buff Beauty and Jeri Jennings. But maybe hybrid musks aren't "old" enough to count?

Kate

• bman1920
    10 years ago

Dublin everything counts its what you are personally looking for.But i think the question was whats the shrub you dont like the looks of but it has nice flowers. Everyone is gonnaa have an opinion .

• jacqueline9CA
    10 years ago

Regarding "most graceful rose bush", almost all of the rose bushes in my garden are graceful - that is one of my most important criteria for which roses to choose.