Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lynn2112

Graham Thomas v. Duchess d Auerstadt

Hi,

It is decided, Cl. America has to go. I have very few yellow roses in my yard; actually, only Golden Celebration which I love. My backyard has brighter, warm colors. I read that Graham Thomas is not fragrant, but the most important quality that I am looking for is health, followed by color, as it must coordinate with the deep and medium pinks, dark reds, salmon pink, and orangey- apricot roses in my backyard. What do you all think, which one is best? I am also open to any suggestions you have.

Thank you,

Lynn

Comments (14)

• monarda_gw
    10 years ago

I cannot help you with your decision, unfortunately, since I have no experience with either, but I have heard that Graham Thomas is very fragrant and the Duchesse not so much, so that will probably not be the deciding criteria in solving your pleasant dilemma. Good luck!

• luxrosa
    10 years ago

I love both roses, but I can barely detect scent in Graham Thomas whilst I would give the Duchess a strong 5 out of 10 for depth of scent and I prefer the type of scent that Duchess d'Auerstadt' has, plus in our area it is more disease resistant to foliage fungi. Always a plus as I don't spray with anything.

Lux

• joshtx
    10 years ago

Lynn,

I don't have any experience with either rose, but I have heard that Graham Thomas has a tendency to grow straight up and bloom at the tops of its canes.

Josh

• melissa_thefarm
    10 years ago

To my nose both have a decided Tea fragrance. My grafted 'Duchesse d'Auerstaedt' gets big; about 10' x 18' with a solid annual pruning. I get the impression that it's one of those roses that's much more vigorous grafted than on its own roots. Both are beautiful varieties.
    Melissa

• erasmus_gw
    10 years ago