Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nikthegreek_gw

Help to choose a pink-ish large flowered cl.

nikthegreek
10 years ago

Any suggestions for a relatively vigorous pinkish (but not neon pink) repeating lfc for my Med climate? I was thinking kind of a New Dawn sans the mildew problems, but it doesn't have to be that vigorous since roses tend to get large anyway over here. Shouldn't need too much TLC though. Since I'm in Europe I will not be able to obtain an exclusively US rose but let me hear your suggestions anyhow.

Having said this, is New Dawn really such a PM magnet as some people report? I have no personal experience with it.

BTW is this the right forum to post this or should I also post it in the general roses forum?
Thanks, Nik

Comments (32)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago

You might look at Austin's Wedgwood climber--fat, fully packed, pastel pink blooms. It is supposed to be very disease-resistant, but I haven't had mine long enough to verify any long-term performance.

Austin's St. Swithun climber is supposed to be quite disease-resistant also. I don't grow it, but I've seen the bloom--full open pastel pink bloom.

A more vigorous Austin climber is Mortimer Sackler. I grow it--disease-resistant, blooms are somewhat darker pink than the first two I named above, but still in the light pink range. The bloom isn't quite as "refined" as as the above blooms, but is more--shall we say--"exuberant." I like but don't exactly "love" my Mortimer Sackler.

Hope that helps.

Kate

• nikthegreek
    Original Author
    10 years ago