Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eelangley

Naturalizing....

eelangley
10 years ago

Hi all,
I have been thinking of trying to work some roses into the landscape, but I want them to look like a happy accident (not an unfortunate one, heh). I really like the older roses, and I was wondering if anyone would be willing to make some suggestions. I grew up around HTs and don't care for them in general. Recently, I have been exploring antique and species roses on the internet and find them very appealing! I have some ideas and have read a little bit, but I have no hands-on experience with these older roses.
Location...pretty primitive. Plant size is not a consideration, there is plenty of space and options. There is also plenty of deer and heat! The deer can be like a plague of locusts. I guess thorniness would be an advantage there. Heat is 105F+. The soil is rather rocky, drains well.
I feel like own-root just makes sense. Does it?
Fragrance would be great. Long or repeat bloom would also be great. Hips would be nice, too.
What do you think? Am I dreaming?
Thanks in advance,
eel. :)

Comments (11)

• bluegirl_gw
    10 years ago

Hi, I'm nw of SA, on the Edward's, too. Study the "Earthkind" roses listed by the Antique Rose Emporium & Chamblees. They undergo trials for drought resistance & being easy keepers.

If you're willing to invest the work of chipping out a big hole in the caliche or planting in raised beds then using a good soil mix & mulch, many of the old garden roses will thrive. If you can give them lots of water & care the first couple of years to get established many become virtually self sustaining when they're mulched well.

I've been here ~ 4 yrs & some of the ogrs that are really happy with little care (I don't spray, but put them in a good hole with good soil) are:
    Caldwell Pink
    Mme. Laurette Messime
    Agrippina
    Louis Phillipe
    Champney's Pink Cluster
    Nastarana
    Rosa Eglantine
    Souvenir de la Malmaison
    Duchessa de Brabant