Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
well_rooted

Any comments regarding these roses?

well_rooted
10 years ago

I am about to place an order with Palatine, and since I am new to the OGR, I thought I would ask if any of you have any comments in regards to this list.

I am primarily looking for a large bush with a glorious display.

I would also like to know if any of these die to the ground over the winter in Zone 5. Since they are listed as Zone 5b I am not sure if it means that the buds on 4' canes will likely die, or if the entire plant may perish.

My climate is hot and very dry in the summer and cold, but with snow cover in the winter.

I could probably squeeze another rose onto this list if someone persuades me that I need it. Luckily Palatine is sold out of many or this list would be much longer!

Here is my list (for this year):
Botzaris
Queen of Denmark
Ispahan
Gypsy Boy
Erinnerung an Brod
Belle Amour
Lavender Lassie
Skyrocket
Geschwind's Orden
Empress Josephine

Thank you!
Muriel

Comments (13)

• lynnette
    10 years ago

I have grown these ones.
    Botzaris ...one of the best
    Queen of Denmark...another excellent one
    Ispahan...very good but it will become a monster if your soil is rich, mine went 8 feet
    Gypsy Boy...I had to get rid of this one because it can become a very wide monster of a rose bush, but lots of flowers
    Erinnerung an Brod...a must have if only for the colour
    Belle Amour...a tall and lank bush, very hardy
    Skyrocket ...tall and the arches over, good red colour
    Empress Josephine...flowers to me are fluffy looking. Lots of them because the canes tend to arch over

• nastarana
    10 years ago