Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bamadixiechick_gw

seed starting newbie- need help on equipment

bamadixiechick
13 years ago

This is my first time starting seeds. I have purchased (2)72 cell trays/mini greenhouses and Jiffy-Mix. See attached photos. Is this the correct products?

Lighting: I have 2 silver clamp shop lights. What bulbs and wattage do I need? Do I need a heat mat? Thanks for your help!!

{{gwi:214021}}

{{gwi:214026}}

{{gwi:214032}}

Comments (7)

• noinwi
    13 years ago

I use 26W compact bulbs in a reflector hood, but I have used the clamp lights before to start small batches of things, too. Your two lamps should be ok for starting, just remember to keep them very close to your seedlings(a few inches), raising them as the seedlings grow. That said, you won't need the lights until your seeds sprout and you take the plastic cover off of them.
    Whether you need a heating mat depends on what seeds you are planting. Peppers germinate better with bottom heat(about 85 degrees), tomatoes can use less and will sprout sooner than peppers. If you've got a lot of different things planted in the one tray, I would just set it somewhere warmish like on the fridge or water heater. What seeds are you starting? You may need to start some separately or at different times.
    And, don't forget to read the FAQ's at the top of the forum page for more info.

• karkalec
    13 years ago

I'm in the same boat, trying to start small batches of tomato and cucumber next couple of months. I was also going to do clamp lights since I don't need much and don't want to invest in fluorescent light bars. Do regular CFL lights work or do you need some sort of full spectrum bulbs that are special?

Thanks!

• keriann_lakegeneva
    13 years ago

What seeds are you starting?
    You have a great start for many seeds, but the qty and variety of seeds would help for specific advice.

Let us know

Keriann~

• noinwi
    13 years ago