Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anawazor

Newbie with a penchant for overthinking

Anawazor
11 years ago

Hi all!

If there is a link that will answer my question, I will gladly accept it, but I am not pulling much up in a search.

I am new to this zone and new to starting seeds indoors. (Moved my way up the coast from 9b to 6a, it is a little different up here!)

I keep trying to remind myself that seeds *want* to grow, and to keep it simple, but just can't stop over thinking what should be a straightforward process! I will be starting in a basement that has so far been hovering around the same temperature as my home (55-65*) with similar humidity (50-60%).
We will be using standard plastic cell trays (32 cell/tray) with cover, shop lights suspended from pulleys, and a fan for air movement.
We are undecided on starting medium- currently perusing the availability locally. (Will still take brand suggestions, we are finding a lot of unsterilized and heavy medium out there!)

My question lies in indoor starting vs. direct seeding. I would much rather start everything indoors so as to have a more accurate count of plants before preparing my soil. We have a decent amount of land, but it is rocky by nature and it would save both mine and my fiance's backs and bank accounts if we don't over-clear, over-prepare and over-amend. One less row in a 45'-50' garden saves a decent amount of deer fencing, posts, and compost- not to mention sweat-equity.

I also am spending too much time over-thinking germination. I will be planting a mixture of plants per tray, and surely they will germinate at different rates; how do you guys handle this when it comes to uncovering the flat and letting the excess humidity escape? Am I over doing it by thinking I will need to cover sections as needed to continue retaining moisture for slow germinators?