Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ferry-Morse seeds

Posted by LloydHolzmeyer none (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 11, 14 at 15:11

Hi

This is my first year to try to grow my garden plants from seed. I have requested several seed catalogs. I was at Lowes today and noticed they have a good selection of Ferry-Morse seeds at reasonable prices. Is there any reason I shouldn't buy these seeds.

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ferry-Morse seeds

• Posted by digdirt 6b-7a North AR (My Page) on
    Sat, Jan 11, 14 at 15:23

Not at all assuming you want to grow commonly grown varieties as that is what is predominately sold in stores. Seed catalogs provide a much wider selection of varieties and you usually get more seeds. But the cost + shipping is higher too. So if standard varieties are what you are after then the store-sold seeds are fine.

Dave

o

• Posted by ZachS z5 Littleton, CO (My Page) on
    Sat, Jan 11, 14 at 23:43

one of the better producing bush beans (top crop) I have grown came from a Ferry Morse packet, I also have had good experience with a cucumber (homemade pickles) that was from them. I don't have any complaints about the company.

Like Dave said though, you'll find better variety from the catalogs. As far as quality goes, I don't think you'll be disappointed with Ferry Morse.

o

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

That's exactly the kind of advice I was looking for.

o

What kind of veggies are you looking to grow? Marty

o

• Posted by bencjedi 6 - Central Kentucky (My Page) on
    Fri, Feb 7, 14 at 15:51

I always like when you can find unique varieties in the stores. For example I found a dwarf version of cilantro from Ferry Morse in the Lowes seed display. I'm interested in having short, bushy plants. I seeded some last night, so wil see how they turn out.

o