Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
namaste4you_gw

blocking diret sun on seedlings

Namaste4you
10 years ago

Does anyone have a suggestion on the best material to place on windows to block the direct sun, (but allow the most light in) for my flower seedlings. I'm new at attempting germination. Thanks!

Comments (4)

• dowlinggram
    10 years ago

You don't want to block the light coming in windows. You do not get direct light from windows. Unless your house is built different from most you have eaves and they block the direct sun. The light you get on window sills is indirect light even tough it may look like it is very sunny.

Window sills are not the best place to grow seedlings. If you don't have a light set-up look into winter sowing. There is a whole forum on it in this site.

Only some plants like to germinate in complete darkness and that is accomplished for the most part by making sure the seed is covered by soil or by putting something dark over the top of the container. Some seeds need the light to germinate so they are sown on top of the soil and misted to keep them moist. Read your seed packages and they'll tell you what the plant needs.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Agree. Seedlings can never get enough sunlight through windows as it is this time of year - unless you live in the southern hemisphere - so you sure don't want to block any of it. Even most greenhouses have to use supplemental lighting this time of year.

Dave

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    10 years ago

Which state or climate if not US are you located?