Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dragonjaze

Seed Starting setup question

dragonjaze
13 years ago

Some things to note: This will be the first time starting plants from seed on more than a single plant basis. I am a complete novice! :)

I am about to set up my seed starting area in the basement, and I have a question about lights. I am planning on having 2 fluorescent fixtures, each 4 ft in length, your standard run-of-the-mill shop lights.

My plants will be on a sawhorses and plywood table, and the lights will hang from the ceiling. Is it a good idea to have the fixtures independent of each other, so I can raise and lower each one separately, or can I tie them together in one system?

Again, complete novice, so I have no idea how fast the following plants will grow. This is what I will be attempting:

Bell peppers

tomatoes

pole beans

watermelon

zucchini

lettuce

My original plan had the lights fixed together so I could raise and lower as one unit, but I got to thinking about it, and was wondering if I would come to regret it when the tomatoes got so much taller than the lettuce?

And a small fan for air circulation is good, right?

Comments (5)

• keriann_lakegeneva
    13 years ago

Wow! You have an awesome plan and you are correct, I would keep them separate, each plant will grow at a different rate. You can always use something to raise the plants up to the lights, like books underneath, to try to even them out better.

One more tip, make sure you look at when to plant your seeds so you don�t start too early or late. I was so excited my first year I planted everything in Jan and come May I had a jungle that was such a nightmare to water and shift around and my plants did not like getting transplanted to large.

Have fun and keep posting your progress : )

Keriann~

• loribee2
    13 years ago