Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Apple seed sprouted. Now what?

Posted by sheemak (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 26, 11 at 17:36

Hi,

I have kept some apple seeds in a damp paper towel in the fridge for around 10 days. One of them has grown a root now. Should I still keep it as is or should I plant it in soil? do I need to keep it cold?

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Apple seed sprouted. Now what?

i am not an expert but i have tried to cold stratify many times with mixed success . when the roots begin to sprout the plant is vulnerable to damage and should be carefully planted in soil.after that keeping it cold may slow its growth so as to delay it till you can safely raise it outdoors. if leaves appear it must have sun. the trick to all this is timing so your seed sprouts when it is time to place it where it will grow. so much depends on the type of plant and the zone and what you plan to do with the plant.i would plant this apple in a small pot and keep it cold till leaves appear thenkeep it in the sunnyest window till you r last hard freeze has pased apple leaves can probably survive a lite frost .you might not know that while many fruits will grow true to the parent plant apple seeds are notorious for growing into different kinds of apples than what they came from

o
RE: Apple seed sprouted. Now what?