Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarahjoy94

Newbie to Gardening

sarahjoy94
14 years ago

This is my first year with a garden and I have so many questions, (sorry in advance)but I just don't want to waste money.

My list of plants; Basil, Cumin, Cilantro, Chives, Green beans and Lima beans, Onion, Cucumber, Corn, Bell Peppers, Jalapenos, Tomatoes, Watermelon, Lettuce, Carrots, Cantaloupe, and Pumpkins.

I'm a huge over-thinker of everything I do. I approach everything very logically and straightforward which is a blessing and a curse. I literally have every inch of my garden charted out on graph paper, down to where every seed is placed.

I want to start most of my seeds indoors (except for green beans, lima beans, carrot and onions due to the mass amount that I'm planting) and I need some advice. I want to start them in organic starters seen here http://www.amazon.com/100-Organic-Biodegradable-Seed-Starting/dp/B002K4TW3A but I'm thinking they will be too small for some of the plants like pumpkin, tomatoes, peppers and watermelon. Will they work?

If not what can I use?

Also what soil do I use to start and can I use the same soil throughout until planting. I've heard of germinating soil first and then switching it.

Also I have some compost but it's not nearly finished. Can I still use it or anything?

Thanks and sorry for all the questions.

Comment (1)

• sleepy33
    14 years ago