Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
huckleberryfriend

Broccoli Falling Over

huckleberryfriend
16 years ago

I'm new at gardening and not off to a good start. Started broccoli and cauliflower from seed. Broccoli plants are under fluorescent lights and cauliflower is in South facing window.

Plants fall over (and die) when they get to be about 2 1/2 to 3" tall. My first flat of broccoli was leggy (I think I waited a day or 2 too long to move under lights), so I started another flat. Have the same problem with both flats of broccoli and flat of cauliflower.

The temperature is about 55-60 at night and may go up to 75-80 during the day.

I appreciate any ideas for solving this problem.

Thanks

Rich

Comments (12)

• joytosew
    16 years ago

Hi Rich,
    I am new at growing indoors under lights, but this season I put a greenhouse in my basement and started growing under lights.
    I had a similar problem with my broccoli and some of the other seeds I planted. I was using a soil-less mix of spangum moss, vermiculite and perlite.
    After the first 2 crops failed, I mixed a potting soil into my mix at a ratio of 3 parts soil-less mix to 1 part potting soil.
    The broccoli, cauliflower and other plants I had the problems with were replanted on January 3rd. They are 4 inches plus, healthy looking and ready to replant into my cubic garden boxes.

I can't tell you what your problem is, but maybe you are having a similar situation as me.

cristi

• huckleberryfriend
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks cristi,

I started with vermiculite and sphagnum moss, much like you did. The last mix I made was potting mix and extra vermiculite I might start another flat using just the planting mix and see how that works.

Thanks
    Rich

• albertar
    16 years ago

Rich