Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chrisnance

Newspaper Pots and Tragedy

chrisnance
14 years ago

Hey guys, I'm a complete noob here.. Though I did begin my forum stalking about a year ago when I decided to craft my very own garden from scratch. Well, I've waited--what seems to me--a loooong time, so I started some seeds about a week ago.

I ended up making my own pots out of newspaper, they're about as big as a coke can. I then took said pots, put them in a big container (one of those under-the-bed storage containers), I bought clip on shop lights and fluorescent bulbs... well you get the idea.

Anyway... My first/biggest mistake was the soil I used. I didn't realize until I got home that I hadn't bought the correct type of soil to start plants in. I actually purchased some type of outdoor soil that has a lot of fibrous mulchyness to it.

Well, not wanting to wait an additional lengthy 24 hours before I could go back to the store, I went with it. I know, probably a mistake.

Well, my seedlings are coming up! Congrats me!

However, there is mold appearing inside and around some of the news pots. I guess this is a combo of too much water, not sterile soil, bad drainage, no air movement...

Should I replant the seedlings that come up?

Should I just try to find some type of "flat" ?

Should I add a fan to the closet they're in and see how it plays out?

Anyway, sorry about the novel... I just need some experienced advice. I don't want to lose all my plants for the season, but I just don't know what to do!

Thanks in advance!!

Comments (10)

• chrisnance
    Original Author
    14 years ago

{{gwi:219379}}
    {{gwi:219382}}

• keriann_lakegeneva
    14 years ago

I really can¡¦t believe they actually came up in mulch º

In saying that, I believe the mold is due to too much water and no air circulation.

For now, I would decrease the water and increase air circulation (space them out and get them out of the tub/container, just put the pots on a cookie sheet for now).