Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ragtimegal

How do you inventory your seeds?

ragtimegal
15 years ago

I'm a newbie and have seeds I need to catalog/inventory. How do those of you that do this keep the information organized and what info, besides seed name, do you sort/categorize them by?

Thanks!

Comments (11)

• sarahbarah27
    15 years ago

I like to keep a log of them as I am growing them. I usually include:
    NAME---ANNUAL/PERENNIAL---DATE SOWED---DATE GERMINATED--- #GERMINATED

I do this just so I can look back and see what worked well for me. I also have a calendar I use to keep track of when to start different seeds because all have different starting times(some 8-10wks before last frost, some 4-6wks etc...)

Hope this helped.
    Sarah

• ragtimegal
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Yes, that helps! Do you keep an inventory of your un-sown seeds so that you know what you have?

• sarahbarah27
    15 years ago

Yes,I order all my seeds from one place (Park Seed) so i just keep a copy of the order for my records.

Sarah

• retiredprof
    15 years ago

I use an Excel spreadsheet. Each "tab" is a different year. For each year I indicate new seeds purchased, from what company, and break by veggies, herbs, and annuals/perennials. You can make this as complex as you want, but at least I know what I have in inventory.

I highlight (in different colors) those that I wintersow, direct sow, or start inside.

I can send to you if you would like.

Prof

• ragtimegal
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks, Prof! I was just saying today that I was thinking of creating a spreadsheet. I'll send you an email.

• kayhh
    15 years ago

When I plant my seeds, I write an estimate of how many is left on the front of the package. Also, I make sure the package is marked with a year purchased or saved. Then they are sealed up with tape and tossed haphazardly into a plastic sealable container to await the next season.