Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jessi_ohio

Lasagna layers and direct sow

Jessi-Ohio
11 years ago

I am new to outdoor gardening but I have indoor plants that I do really well with. We had some warm days here in Ohio so I covered over beds I haven't done anything with since moving into our house. I put the layers of newspaper down then covered them with dirt. I'm unsure whether to mulch now or not because I plan to direct sow some flowers when spring comes. The directions on seed planting say to plant the seed at certain depths in the dirt. Should I mulch over the dirt now and just sweep away a little hole to plant the seeds or should I wait until the seedlings come up to mulch? Thanks!

Comments (2)

• defrost49
    11 years ago

For the lasagna method, you alternate layers of green and brown over the layer of newspapers. I top it all off in the spring with a layer of composted horse manure. The first year I tried this method, I had time to build a bed for the following year and got it about 24" high. It really sunk down over winter (2007/2008) and last year it was level with the original ground. I just keep adding compost in some areas depending on what I plant.

I think you're supposed to give the layers at least 6 weeks to settle down. Last year I wanted to get going on a new bed right away. It was for winter squash which I planted in hills. I made a hole where I wanted the hill and added a few scoops of composted manure. It worked out well but the bed itself isn't in as good shape at the beds I built up with more layers.