Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerry71_gw

Need more help with snapdragon seedlings.

Jerry71
13 years ago

My seedlings are now 2" tall and have 2 sets of true leaves. When and where do I start pinching and when do I transplant to hanging basket? Also, when can I expose them to direct sunlight? As I said before, I am new to growing flowers from seeds. Any and all help will be very welcome.

Picture of seedlings can be viewed at following URL.

Thanks, Jerry.

Here is a link that might be useful: Snapdragon seedlings.

Comments (8)

• madrone
    13 years ago

Jerry,
    It looks like you could pot up your snapdragons into their final pot (though I've never seen a variety that lends itself to hanging pot material...all the cultivars I've grown have always had an upright habit). I've never pinched them, since they branch out as soon as you start dead-heading them. Being in zone 6a, you will have to wait until it warms up outside, probably the May long weekend before taking them outside. Then you will have to slowly acclimatize them to sunlight. For this task, I usually put them under remay cloth for 3-4 days in an area that gets some direct sunlight for part of the day. I normally plant the seeds in April, then they are the right size to be planted out around mid May. They tend to grow quite quickly. What cultivar are you growing?

• Jerry71
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hi madrone, thanks for your help. Yes, I was surprised as well first time I saw trailing snapdragon in Johnny�s Seeds catalog. When I saw the picture I just had to have the seeds. I have never seen them in a nursery. I will give them a call or send them email with picture and see what they have to say about pinching.
    Thanks, Jerry
    Here is a link to the picture of snapdragon hanging basket:
    http://www.johnnyseeds.com/popup.aspx?src=images/product/large/1265_1_.jpg
    or
    http://tillsonburgarian.blogspot.com/2011/01/our-gardening-season-has-started.html