Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
First Time Growing Seeds

Posted by lexiebmax05 8 (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 13, 10 at 13:15

Okay folks, so heres some pictures of my setup of just a few tomato and bell pepper seedlings. I've been told so many mixed things on what to do. This is my first time trying to do this by seed and I thought it would be relatively simple but no so. I sprouted both varieties in a jiffy starter with pellets and then once they were about 3 inches high, I replanted in these foam cups and poked a few holes in the bottom. The tomatoes are growing fast but they look a little leggy. The bell peppers are growing sort of slow but they are very green and seem healthy. I have two large clamp lights above them hooked to my cabinets with two large "grow bulbs" in them. The bulb gets pretty warm and I thought this would be enough light for just this little bit of plants...but Im not sure why the tomatoes are so skinny and leggy. I've asked people about putting a small fan on them and putting a heat mat underneath for the peppers but I was told that was unnecessary...what do I need to do??

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: First Time Growing Seeds

Your little guys look good!

About being leggy... because your lamps get hot they can not get too close to the plants. I would get a shop light 2 or 4ft (4ft is cheaper but an over kill for your little set-up) and get it very close to your plants, almost touching your maters. These lamps will not burn the plants, they get just warm to the touch. You will have to 'tilt' is because your maters are taller and I would run them 16 hours a day. I would keep one of your lamps with grow bulbs on for heat, not light, and keep it closer to the peppers, they love the heat. You are going to have 4ft maters by May!

Your soil looks quite dry though. Did you pre-moisten it before planting? If not I would give them a healthy water.