Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help Me to Understand Bottom Watering

Posted by my4cowboys zone 5 - UT (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 13, 10 at 13:52

Hi all - thank you for your patience with all of my newbie questions!

So I'm getting ready to plant my first seeds today (I don't know why I'm so nervous about this - I guess I just want to do it right!), and I have one of those kit things I bought from Burpee. It has a lower tray to hold water, and then a wicking mat to bring the water up to the cell packs that sit above. Does it matter how much water I put in the lower tray - do the plants just take in what they need? Or, if I put in too much, will the plants get over-soaked?

I'm hoping I can just put a bunch of water in the bottom tray and the plants will get what they need. But, like I said, I am completely new to this, so teach me otherwise!

Suzanne

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help Me to Understand Bottom Watering

I'm hoping I can just put a bunch of water in the bottom tray and the plants will get what they need.

Sorry but no, it doesn't work that way. Reason: oxygen is just as importnat to germination and root development as is water. Soil that is too wet and is kept constantly wet is oxygen-deprived - seeds rot and so do young roots. So seedlings should never be left sitting or standing in water or on a constantly wet wicking mat.

The tray is there to fill with an inch or so of water, allow the cells to absorb enough just until the top of the soil is slightly damp (avg. 10-20 mins.), then dump out the rest of the water in the tray. The wicking fabric will remain damp for another hour or so and then dry out. A few days later put more water in the tray and repeat the process.

The goal is to keep the soil in the cells just slightly moist like a wrung out sponge, not wet, not soupy, not dripping, just lightly moist.

Dave

o