Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loribee2

This won't go up in flames, will it?

loribee2
13 years ago

I made a seed incubator--a reflective foam insulation box around my shop light set-up, to maximize the amount of light my seedlings will get and to hopefully hold in a little more of the heat the lights generate.

The guys at Lowes didn't think this stuff was flammable, but they weren't terribly convincing. None of the foam is actually touching the shop lights, so I think I'm okay. But I just thought I'd double check with the experts. This stuff isn't dangerously flammable, is it?

{{gwi:221217}}

{{gwi:35970}}

{{gwi:221218}}

Here is a link that might be useful: my blog

Comments (8)

• noinwi
    13 years ago

Well, I'm no expert, but I checked with my DH who used to be a contractor, and he said the shop lights wouldn't get hot enough to cause problems, especially since the top is open and the foil would be reflecting the heat away from the foam. It might be different if you were using hot bulbs like metal halide or high pressure sodium for example.
    Nice set-up, by the way. You might put something white, maybe a vinyl table cloth on top of the chest to get even more light reflected(just my 2 cents).

• loribee2
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Oh that's a good idea! Thanks for the input. I was thinking it should be reasonably flame retardant since you're supposed to put it in your walls, after all. But I figure it never hurts to check. Thanks much!

Here is a link that might be useful: my blog

• redshirtcat
    13 years ago

You should check the reflectivity rating of that material. Clean flat white paint on wood will give you 85% light reflectivity. Sometimes people are surprised that many metallic "reflective" surfaces are actually worse (obviously some are better than the paint but it can be hard to tell).