Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chammond_gw

How to germinate osage orange

chammond
16 years ago

Does anyone know how to sprout those little guys? I tried planting a section with the seed in it and I have tried seperating the tiny seed from a section (I consider a section one triangular piece you can strip away from the ball). I am very new at this so please put everything either in layman's terms or explain what things are.

Thanks for the help.

Chris

Comments (12)

• georgez5il
    16 years ago

Store the seed at 40F for 30 days then soak seed in water for 2 day's.... then lightly cover the seed soil temp 60-70F

• chammond
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks, Georgez5il. They have been stored in my garage which has dropped well below 40F for more than two months but maybe I'll have some luck anyways.
    Chris

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    16 years ago

Where I grew up old farmers used Osage orange for a functional hedge. They would dig a furrow, fill it with Osage orange fruit and let it set there all winter. It would freeze and thaw in that area several times over the winter. In spring they would fill the furrow with dirt and wait. It worked but I was too young then and too old now to remember how efficient it was. did they get 1% germination or 90% germination? I probably never knew.

• brandymulvaine
    16 years ago

I have a bucket of hedgeapples sitting outside that hopefully I can plant in the spring. They were picked for me by my dad on a trip to Kansas. He said he got them off of the tree so I don't know if they were ripe enough. Here's some info that might help. B

Here is a link that might be useful: hedge apples

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    16 years ago

Hey, Chris!