Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eleanor_rigby_gw

What brand of potting soil do you prefer?

eleanor_rigby
18 years ago

I used to exclusively use Metro Mix by Scott's for starting seedlings. The garden center where I used to buy it no longer sells it. I have tried Fafard's 4M Professional Mix. It is ok. What brands are your favorites?

Eleanor

Comments (57)

• Pieonear
    18 years ago

I also start seeds in Miracle Gro potting soil and haven't had a problem yet.

• garden_crazy_girl
    18 years ago

Has anyone here used a mix of jiffy seed starter and miracle grow? Those seem to be the best and I am a seed starting newbie. I have one of those soil cubers I bought online and I don't know if they will work with just seed starter or is you have to mix in some soil too.

have another question: when using a capillary mat for wick method do you place the soil blocks directly on it? dumb question I know but I am a newbie at this.

• SHLGR2
    18 years ago

I just used those jiffy pellets that expand when you add water, they worked just fine i already have pansy seedlings after just 7 days!

• tastefullyjulie
    18 years ago

Has anyone used Expert Gardener or something like that which they sell at Walmart? I went there to get Miracle Gro but it was all wet (fungus gnats yuck) so I got this stuff instead. I was hesitant but it is made by schultz. Seems a little sticky though. Hyponex is bizarre, what's in that stuff?!?

• leaz7b
    18 years ago

Tastefullyjulie,
    I bought the Expert Gardener this year, too, for the same reasons you described. I have always used MG before, but this year, it was really worse, as far as the amt of chunks of bark and just full of gnats here. I am wondering if anyone else has used the Expert, too.

Lea

• Loretta NJ Z6
    18 years ago