Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
my4cowboys_gw

Can I do this for less?

my4cowboys
14 years ago

Hi all - I'm completely new to vegetable gardening. We bought a house last summer that has a perfect spot 35x30 for a garden and I'm really excited about growing lots of great things!

I have ordered lots of seeds, and fortunately, only need to start a few things indoors - broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes, and a few herbs. The rest, I can direct-sow.

I have a growing kit I ordered from Burpee - tray, water mat, 72-cells, with peat inserts - just add water! However, now I'm realizing that I will need some lights to keep my seeds going once I plant - my south-facing window just isn't going to cut it.

So my question is: how little can I spend on lights and still have an effective set-up? My local nursery said they have a kit for $70, but here's what I'm thinking: in my laundry room, I have a counter next to a sink. I could suspend some lights under the cabinets above the counter, making them adjustable on a chain as needed. So really I think I would just be into it for the amount for the shop light, flourescent bulbs, S-hooks, and suspension chains. Am I missing something? I'm thinking my set-up would be way less than $70. I'm trying to start relatively small - I'll probably only be starting about 35-50 seedlings total, so I don't need a huge rack with multiple shelves. (Yet!)

Also, my furnace is adjacent to my laundry room - it is one of the warmest rooms in my house, so I think the temperature should be OK. Having said that, what is the ideal temperature for germinating seeds indoors?

Thanks so much for everyone's help - I have learned a lot already from reading many of the other posts!

Comments (10)

• keriann_lakegeneva
    14 years ago