Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nissy12

Seed Starting Trays vs Peat Pellets

nissy12
16 years ago

Hi There,

Last year I used peat pellets as my seed starting medium, with mixed success. This year I want to use "seed cell trays". What I liked about the peat pellets was that they were pretty easy to water, just fill the bottom tray and they will suck the water up. How does that work with these seed starting trays ? What is the best way to water them ? How long can your seedlings stay in a seed starting tray, I only grow petunias and I let them stay in those peat pellets until they were ready to be planted outside. My BIGGEST question is: What is the best way to grow petunias; peat pellets or seed starting trays ? I know these are a lot of questions, but I have to get shopping soon, I have my shelve and my lightning setup done (and my seeds).

Thanks,

Dennis

Comments (8)

• zubababy
    16 years ago

this is my first year growing from seed. so far i have tried peat pellets, peat pots w/ seed starting mix, seed cells w/trays, seed trays. i personally like the cells in the tray. it's just as easy to bottom water. i leave one of the cells open to pour the water into the tray then all the cells soak up the water that they need. the peat pots are either too wet or too dry - i just can't seem to get those to work for me. so far i've lost every seed that i've put in the pellets, either by drying out, mold, or damping off.
    everything that i have in the cells and the seed trays (that sit in another tray) are doing well.

• nissy12
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Maybe a stupid question, but do these cells have holes in the bottom so the water can get in there ?

Dennis

• zubababy
    16 years ago

all the cells that i have, have holes in the bottom. then i place the cells in a tray (1020 tray) that i water from.

• rachel_z6
    16 years ago