Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ninjabut

Top or bottom watering?

ninjabut
14 years ago

I keep hearing different opinions on this.

How best to water your seedlings before and after germination? This is my first year starting seeds indoors.

Comments (10)

• keriann_lakegeneva
    14 years ago

I would highly recommend bottom watering throughout the growing season until they are in their final destination (container or garden beds). Bottom watering does not wash away the soil, pool water around the seedlings that may lead to damping-off disease and allows the plants to 'self-wick' water. Because I only bottom water, I do use a fan when they are a bit larger so they can build stronger stems.

Best reason.....it is much easier!

I hope that helps : )

Keriann~

• californian
    14 years ago

I use both methods. But if you bottom water and have a lot of minerals in your water you will build up a salt crust on the top surface if you bottom water for several weeks, especially if you have your plants out in the sun. Eventually the salt crust will kill the plant if it gets bad enough.

• sarahbarah27
    14 years ago

I am no expert in the matter, but I can tell you what I do, and it has worked for me with great results!

I top water until the seedling are of a good size, starting off just misting, then switching to a little watering can with a tiny spout opening so that the water dribbles out slowly. I find that bottom watering makes the soil far too moist for little seedlings. I guess its just a matter of preference, I just feel that seedlings don't really need that much water.

Water shouldn't stay pooled around your seedlings when you top water, if it does then you need a different type of mix, or a smaller spouted watering can!

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

Bottom watering only is the standard recommendation. Top watering only leads to shallow root development and faster nutrient loss in the pots.