Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lord_baal

sunroom setup

lord_baal
14 years ago

So here's the situation. I am in zone 5 and have a western facing heated sunroom with three walls that are 95% window with the third wall being the wall of the house. My question is what kinds of things could i get to grow in there during the winter the room seems to be good to even get poinesttas to reflower every year for christmas without any control of the light. I have a bunch of seeds any chance i can get morning glories or moonflowers to work in there? I'm really new at this so if this is a dumb question im sorry

Comments (3)

• keriann_lakegeneva
    14 years ago

No question is dumb : )

As long as your sunroom stays above 60 degrees almost anything will grow in it. The negative is... seedlings will be slower to germinate and become leggy without additional light sources..but they will grow!

I would direct sow morning glories, they don't like to be transplanted and mine (I am in Zone 5 as well) are 5 feet tall by June 15th (I plant my May 10th-ish). FYI if you water or fertilize morning glories they will grow like weeds and produce very few flowers... just ignore them and they will love you. Also, plant them where you don't mind if they 'take-over', next year you will have HUNDREDS of seedlings so beware.

I would plant any seeds you want though, this is the fun of gardening. They will grow, like I said, just maybe a bit slower but a head start is a head start.

Maybe start some in your sunroom and save some for direct sow in May... then compare the plants in June to see if planting inside paid off in the long run.

If you are looking to only plant morning glories and moonflowers in pots year round in your sunroom (and not plant them at all outside in the Spring), they are biannuals so they would die back and hopefully produce seedlings the next season.

I hope that helps.. Happy Gardening : )

Keriann~

• oilpainter
    14 years ago