Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need feedback on my seedlings

Posted by WetEars none (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 18, 12 at 21:57

Hi,

This is my first time growing seeds. My seedlings are curling their cotyledon leaves downwards and appears to have considerable growth decline. I have searched and read a lot but do not know what to make of it. I heard about under/over watering, too much heat, etc. I'm confused.

Photo: http://i1270.photobucket.com/albums/jj610/wetears/IMAG0707.jpg

Seeds: Johnny's
Seedling age: 7 days
Mix: Johnny's seed starting 512 mix
Fertilizer: none 1st 6 days, 3 drops of 10-15-10 diluted in spray bottle 6th day
Dome: used it during first 5 days
Humidity: 80% with dome, 22-40% without (room)
Light: T5 5" away, 24 hours/day first 6 days, 16 hours currently
Soil temperature: 74 with dome, 69 without (infrared thermometer)
Watering:
*no pre-watering of soil prior to sowing
*twice a day afterwards with spray bottle (about 30 sprays)
*on the 3rd day I put some water in the saucer (either evaporated or got sucked up)

The plant on the left is kale, the right is spinach. For some reason the kale soil remains moist and the spinach dries out quickly as can be seen in the photo. The kale was at the end of the grow light, the spinach in the middle between other pots.

The curling began around day 5/6. All of my other plants are starting to roll their leaves downwards as well. What am I doing wrong?

PS: I just broke out laughing... writing all this feels like I'm trying to solve a crime scene... "Where were you at 6pm when the cotyledon started curling?" haha

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need feedback on my seedlings