Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mayzu

Sowing time and fungicide?

mayzu
14 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new here and I'm fairly new to indoor seed-starting. (Heck, I just turned 22, so I'm new to life in general! haha.)

Anyway, I have two big questions that I can't find an answer to, despite all my research.

First of all, here's my sowing dilemma:

When seed packets (or online instructions) say to sow a particular type of seed "X number of weeks before last frost date," or "during month X," do they REALLY take into account the time it takes for seeds to germinate?

For instance, I have a packet of dianthus ("Sweetness") from Plantation Products. The packet says that germination takes 10-14 days, but encourages starting them indoors in February. If I actually started them today, for example, it would be 12 weeks before I could actually transplant them into the garden! (We usually plant near Mother's Day, May 15th-ish, to avoid all frost.) Even if I went by our "official" planting date (April 30th), they'd still be indoors for about 10 weeks. That just doesn't sound right.

And here's one more example:

I have -- (also from Plantation Products) -- some columbine seeds. It says germination takes 21-28 days, so about a month. But it also says to start them indoors 6-8 weeks before the last frost. The 6 weeks sounds too risky, but maybe the 8 weeks would make sense? Then they'd have a month to germinate, and a month to grow before transplanting.

From what I've been reading, seedlings shouldn't be kept indoors longer than 4-6 weeks anyway. Is this true?

And here's my last question: