Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melissel

Alternative to seedling mat--incandescent bulbs under trays?

melissel
15 years ago

I'm a total newb here, so my apologies in advance if this is a silly question!

I'm wondering if I can get around having to buy a heated mat by positioning two (or more) incandescent bulbs under my trays. Would that generate enough heat, do you think? The trays will be sitting on a wire shelf, so the light will shine directly on the bottoms. We have a few clip-on-type lamps that I could just attach to the shelf underneath the trays. The ambient temp of the room (basement laundry room) is probably in the upper 60s, so I'll definitely need to up the temps for germination.

Thank you in advance. I've already so learned so much from these forums, and I can't wait to get started!

Comments (8)

• kandm
    15 years ago

I don't use a heated mat to germinate seeds. I am way too paranoid about fire hazards to do it. I think you will be fine if you use low watt light bulbs, a moist enclosed environment like egg cartons, plastic green house or ice cube tray to start the seeds. You can even place the trays on top of the fridge for the same warming effect, or on top of the computer.

Seeds germinate at different rates so you may need to move some under lights while others are waiting to pop. If you try to wait until they're all germinated to move them under lights some seeds will end up really leggy.

• kiddo_1
    15 years ago

Hi bellamama. Incandescent bulbs could give off way too much heat and could be a danger by 'scorching' the immediate parts of the tray and not move enough heat to the edges.