Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pc915inthewilds

A newbies first attempt

PC915InTheWilds
11 years ago

I am a first time poster, though long time reader... I have no qualifications to give advice...

First, gardening is a beautiful thing. I find failures to be a relaxing and learning experience ...The split and transplanted to full sun Old Fashioned Bleeding Heart was an epic failure. Though it struggled to come up last year, this year I will move the transplants to part shade.

Second, this is my first year growing anything from seed. Minus of course the grade school tomato plant "experiment".

I have been successful with bulbs, roses, and shrubs... However that does not make a garden alone and we have a large garden/yard...

So my experience thus far...This year...

In an effort to be thrifty and yet make the neighbors jealous. I picked up three trays with plastic domed lids and the individual 2" plug liners. I also bought soil to go with it and many... many packets of seeds... I also did this for less than $15.00 dollars.

I planted a flat each of herbs, annuals, and perennials. I have a total of 150 potential seedlings. They are happily living in the kitchen until I see seedlings breaking the surface... At which point they will be taken outside and domed in the mornings and brought in in the evenings and the domes taken off.

Doing the math, loosing 10 percent is not a huge dent in what I've spent. Would I like all 150 potential plants to make it? Of course!

Am I happy loosing 10 percent? No. However, since nothing has broken the surface yet, I have nothing to loose. (It has been 6 days since planting.)

Does anyone have any suggestions?

As things come up, I will gladly send pictures if anyone has an interest in seeing how this all turns out!

Comments (7)

• dowlinggram
    11 years ago

Well I have been gardening for many years and there are a couple of things you should know.