Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chele519

Fertilizing question

chele519
13 years ago

In the FAQS in this forum, under the "I'm new to growing from seed" section, it says to fertilize 4-5 days after germination. In the "my seedlings are growing section", and in posts I've read in this forum, it says to wait until seedlings develop their true leaves. Which one is correct or should seedlings have their true leaves within 4-5 days? I have no idea how long that takes.

Right now the only thing I have growing is lettuce and I'm not sure whether I should fertilize or not. I planted the seeds 1 week ago today and used Jiffy mix, peat pellets, and some in MG. The jiffy mix and pellets have all germinated but I only have 1 in the MG. They started sprouting after 3 days but most were up yesterday. They went under lights on the 4th day. I planted peppers last week and hopefully they will start to germinate this weekend so I want to make sure I'm doing everything right.

Also, it says use 15-30-15 fertilizer but i haven't found any so far. Do I need to go to a nursery or garden center? I've seen 10-10-10 and another with 12 but don't remember exactly.

Comments (14)

• luvahydrangea
    13 years ago

My peppers took 4 weeks to germinate.

I use fertilizer when I am putting the seed in the starter mix. I spray some Neptune's Fish Fertilizer which is 2-4-1. Then I wait until they have first set of true leaves before feeding them once a week. Again with the same fish fertilizer oh and I spray the underside of the leaves too.

• sarahbarah27
    13 years ago

I use a diluted solution of general purpose 10-10-10 fertilizer in a mister bottle and start after true leaves develope. I use this every time I water them. I put in 1 to 1 1/2 fertilizer for 52 oz of water (because thats the size of my mister bottle)

• chele519
    Original Author
    13 years ago