Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flshimmer_gw

Under watering and Fertilizer

flshimmer
14 years ago

I have had success this year so far with under watering, which I did not do last year. How do you combine under tray watering with fertilizer?

I did not fertilize at all last year and I still had great success with over 10 different varieties of perennials and annuals. This was mostly due to time, and I was a newbie.

Comments (7)

• sleepy33
    14 years ago

By under watering, I'm going to assume you mean what we usually refer to as bottom watering, as in watering the plans by setting them in standing water and allowing to wick up, rather than under watering meaning an insufficient quantity of water. I fertilize by adding fertilizer to the water in the tray when bottom watering. Pour some in,give a little stir, set plants in.

• flshimmer
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you, that is what I meant by bottom watering.

I assumed this was the method, but I just need some clarification.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    14 years ago

To be sure my fertilizer used in bottom watering is mix to the correct strength, I mix it in another measured container and add it to the tray used for bottom watering as needed. Al

• eaglesgarden
    14 years ago

When fertilizing seedlings, you generally want to dilute the fertilizer, rather than using it at full strength. Seedlings are small, and generally don't need a lot of fertilizer, especially their first dose.

As they grow larger, their demands will increase, and you slowly build them up to getting full doses of fertilizer.

• flshimmer
    Original Author
    14 years ago

For my first fertilization, after second leaves appear, how much liquids should I be using? I realize I need to use the diluted strength of the fertilizer. I have the standard 72 cell black flats that come from Lowes.