Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tree seed stratification question

Posted by margo_k 5 (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 14, 11 at 10:58

Hi, I'm fairly new at the whole "growing from seed" thing but I want to try it!

A friend just gave me some tree seed (white fir she said) and the seed needs to stratify in cold, damp conditions for 60 days. I was going to try the "paper towel" method for stratifying the seeds but Ive read that mold can be a big problem for seeds that need to be damp that long.

Instead of regular paper towels that might get moldy could I use some of those "antibacterial wipes" or would that be bad for the seeds? Never tried them for seeds but thinking they are damp and they might reduce the chances of having moldy seeds after 60 days.

Would they work or is that a bad idea?

Thanks all!

Margo

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tree seed stratification question

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Mon, Mar 14, 11 at 20:01

I wouldn't use the wipes. Why don't you place the seeds in a couple of teaspoons of sterile moist vermiculite or sterile moist sand and put them in a small zip lock in your refrigerator. When ready to bring back to warm, sow the entire contents of the zip lock.

Or if you have time with nights cold enough, chilly days with a further temp reduction at night might give them enough time in 4-6 weeks for the moist chill, sometimes a fluctuating temperature is more helpful. Sow and place the pot outdoors.

o
RE: Tree seed stratification question

This is what I have done for seeds that need to be stratified.
Plant them in a container with damp seed starter mix.
Put the container in a plastic bag and store it in the fridge (back of the bottom shelf)
Label with the date you put it in and when to remove it. I use masking tape on the outside of the bag.
Also, mark your calendar when to remove it.