Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flutterbug_gw

Problem Seeds

flutterbug
10 years ago

I have been growing plants from seed for quite a few years now. I have attempted many different plants from seed and I have lots of successes. However there are certain plants that I just can't get to grow, no matter how many times I try. If something I try fails and it is a known "difficult" to grow variety I can usually accept it and decide I will just have to buy that particular plant already grown. The thing that I can't get past is when I continually fail at one that is talked about as easy to grow from seed. I thought others might have this happen to them as well. Perhaps others would like to share the ones they continually fail with and maybe others could share how they have had success with those. Or if nothing else we can just vent and feel better when we see we are not alone in our frustration!
Right now I am dwelling on the fact that every year I try to grow some Purple Prairie Clover (Petalostemum syn. Dalea purpureum) from seed. Every time it germinates no problem and usually I even get some plants past the hardening off stage. However they never turn into plants that flower. They always disappear over the winter. I have very well drained sandy soil. So it would seem I have the right conditions for what they need. I have even tried direct sowing and that did not lead to any plants either! Another I have on my mind is Ipomopsis rubra. It is very similar to my experience with the Dalea.
Please share your "problem" plants!

Comments (11)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Red Salvia - I touch the seeds and they never even germinate no matter what. I leave them to the wife to handle since we love them for the hummers.

Alyssum if I try to start it indoors. I can direct seed it fine but indoors it is a total loss.