Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
justmeinflorida

Learning to start seeds...all advice welcome!

justmeinflorida
12 years ago

Hi,

I'm new at gardening and I'm wanting to start my own seeds. I purchased a small 10 row Burpee pellet greenhouse and tried my hand at basil,cilantro,parsley,rosemary,chives & oregano the only thing that started was the cilantro :( I put them on my window sill, which gets direct sunlight all day. I'm container gardening on my deck and would like to have beans,cucumber,peppers,tomatoes,lettuce,onion & radish but I'm worried that if I buy all that need to start I'm not going to see any results because I'm doing something wrong. Any advice would greatly appreciated.

Comments (4)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Hi and welcome! I suggest you start with all the great FAQs here as they cover all the basics. I direct linked them for you below or you can just click on the blue FAQ button on the front page.

Then some follow up reading through many of the discussions here will also help and here is a link to some of the recent discussions about 'new to seed starting'.

Then post any remaining questions you might have.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Growing from Seed FAQs

• justmeinflorida
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Is it to late to start seeds in Zone 9? I've been looking at the cost to buy started veggies and it's kind of expensive.

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Is it to late to start seeds in Zone 9?

That all depends on the type of plant and when your recommended plant out date is. Since I doubt you have to worry about a late frost the biggest concern for Florida gardeners seems to be beating the heat. That's why they plant so much earlier than many of us can.