Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lolaky_gw

Is anyone doing Big begonia from seed?

lolaky
14 years ago

My big begonia seeds haven't germinated yet & I planted them @ 2 wks. ago. Since these are new, I haven't grown these yet. The pellets have opened 1 wk. ago like they are going to come out, but nothing yet. I have been starting many kinds of seed in my basement for 12 yrs or more, but these have me stumped. They are under shoplites & bottom heat on a timer & I measured soil temp the other day & it is @ 75 - 80. The packet said germ time is 10 - 20 days... I am getting nervous as they are going to be the main annual in my front yard this year. Any ideas?

Comments (4)

• sleepy33
    14 years ago

I haven't done the Big, but did quite a few Nonstop this year. I'm sure you do, but obviously you have a dome/cover of some type on the flat? Don't give up on them just yet, mine took a good while to germinate. Also, they won't start germinating until the coating has dissolved; the seed is inside the coating and isn't getting the moisture it needs to tell it to sprout. So you're really at only 1 week since the seeds really began germinating. I usually put my pelleted seed down and then spray it well with the spray bottle until the coating dissolves; otherwise it will dissolve either as you continue to spray/moisten the top or just eventually dissolve from the moisture of the environment. Oh, and I'm sure you also know how RIDICULOUSLY tiny the seedlings are when they finally do sprout. You seriously need a magnifying glass to see them for the first few days.

• lolaky
    Original Author
    14 years ago